Up With the Chickens

Raising children and chickens on a little buffalo farm

Rejoice and Bee Glad…

on April 7, 2013

We learned a little more about keeping bees this week.

LC Hanby Hudgens, writer

Those of you who read my post, Bee Not Afraid, know that in fact I am – afraid of my bees, that is.  Fortunately Big Hal isn’t and has been dutifully feeding them all winter.  Apparently, he has done a great job.

On the first warm day of spring I spied bees buzzing here and there about the farm, and took that as a good sign that our bees had survived the winter.  When my oldest son, Jack, texted me last week to “come down to the barn and see the bees going crazy,” I was headed out the door to get our goat.  I didn’t see it, but Jack said there were thousands of bees buzzing around the hive.  I was thrilled by this obvious proof that we are some sort of bee whisperers.  After all, this is our first hive, and it was clearly thriving despite…

View original post 259 more words

Leave a Reply

