Up With the Chickens

Raising children and chickens on a little buffalo farm

16 Years of Make Believe…

on September 4, 2012

Today I cleaned out the costume box. It isn’t the first time I’ve done this, but I think it might be the last. Over the years I have discarded dragon costumes, princess dresses, Wonder Woman, Superman, and the most of the rest of the Justice League. Today, I tossed nearly everything else. It was bittersweet.  I have so many happy memories of the children playing dress up for hours on end.  It sad to realize those days are pretty much over.

To make matters worse,  I was working alone. So to ease the pain and the boredom and to catalog what we have left, I took a few photos. I also photographed toys, books, and the children’s art. It took me seven hours to clean Chet’s room, and Hal thinks I’m nuts (these photos confirmed his suspicions), but it was fun too.  And now my kids can look back on some of their childhood costumes one day and remember what fun they had – or at least what fun mommy had.

     

       

Leave a Reply

