Up With the Chickens

Raising children and chickens on a little buffalo farm

Summer is Saved!….Introducing the Low Cal Margarita!

on May 26, 2012

Have I mentioned  that I love Margaritas? Cause I do. I love margaritas. My mother loves margaritas. My grandmother before her loved margaritas. To me they are all that is fabulous about summer. Margaritas are cool, delicious, fun, and the perfect refreshment on a hot day by the pool or on the river. Margaritas are the perfect compliment to almost any summer food. They are great at a cook out, with chips and salsa, with chocolate chip cookies (perhaps a tradition unique to our family), or with more margaritas…

Unfortunately, there is one summer essential that does not go well with the margarita – the swim suit. Like so many of my favorite things, margaritas are loaded with calories. Perhaps that is God’s way of keeping us from having too many. In any case, due to the 10 or so stress pounds (okay ice-cream pounds) I’ve put on since last summer, I have been desperate to find a lower calorie alternative to my favorite summer beverage.  

Ta da!… I believe I’ve found it!

I haven’t experimented with making these frozen or in a punch quantity, but I will definitely be giving it a try. In the meantime, for single serving, follow these directions – well, more like suggestions.

In a martini shaker  or glass mix
1 shot of  good tequilla
a splash of orange juice
Diet 7Up
The juice from 1/2 a lime

Mix well and pour over ice. Enjoy with your favorite summer activity – unless it involves operating heavy machinery.

Saint Arnold of Metz, patron saint of brewers said, “From man’s sweat and God’s love, beer came into the world.” I think the same can be said for margaritas.  They are one of life’s little gifts and pleasures. Now I hope I can enjoy them along with one of life’s other great pleasures – not being too fat to wear my swimsuit.  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

