Up With the Chickens

Raising children and chickens on a little buffalo farm

If I Were the Jealous Type….

on May 7, 2012

I love my life.  What’s not to love?  I’ve got a great husband, four amazing children, a job I enjoy, and a beautiful farm.  Life is good.  And yet, now and then I look at the lives of other women, and I can’t help thinking, “Wow, she’s really got it good!” or “Why can’t I be more like her.”  It’s not that I’m jealous, of course.  But IF I were the jealous type, these are the women who would be at the top of my Green List – and by green I don’t mean environmentally friendly.  By green I mean jealous, which I repeat, I am not.  Let’s just say,  all of these women represent something I’d like to have or like to be.  Okay, that sounds like jealousy, but let’t call it inspiration.  Behold my Inspiring Women List:

1.  Ma Ingalls – The Littles and I have started reading the Little House books.  They are so delightful – funny, interesting, and engaging, but Ma is killing me.  Everything they have, she makes – with the help of Laura and Mary. And everything they make is lovely.  She never throws dinner together and serves it on paper plates.  She actually grates carrots and boils them to make yellow food coloring for her butter  – the butter she churned herself from the milk from her own cow – the cow she raised by hand.  You see what I mean?  She sews beautiful dresses for the girls, fashions hats from reeds, and keeps a simple, tidy, but inviting home. And they do it all Cheerfully, Quickly, and Completely – which is supposed to be my children’s chore mantra. Ma and her kids are seriously putting me and mine to shame… and inspiring me to be more resourceful, peaceful, and tidy.

2.  Michelle Duggar – Okay, I don’t necessarily want 19 kids, but I would have liked four or five more. I am serious.  I LOVE  babies.  In fact,  so far I’ve loved every age and phase my kids have been through.  And the thing is, I think Hal and I get better at parenting with each one. We’re wiser, more patient, and, dare I say it, more fun.  If I had just a few more children, they’d probably turn out to be saints – with a great sense of humor.

3.  The Pioneer Woman – Ugh!  I live in the middle of nowhere. I homeschooled my kids (for a while). I have a cute dog and a hot husband. And I’m pretty handy with a a spatula.  Where’s my Food Network show and book tour?  Again, not jealous just so, so flippin’ inspired.

4.  Hallie Lord  – This woman is responsible for a book entitled Style, Sex, and Substance. (Once again, I’m into all of these things, yet I have no book). The cool thing about Hallie and her book is that she collaborates and cyber socializes with all of these awesomely cool Catholic women and writers.  I do have great friends – Catholic and Protestant, but we barely find time grab an occasional lunch, let alone write a book together. I’ve only started following Hallie’s blog, www.bettybeguiles.com  but I can tell you it’s pretty nifty. (And I’m not just saying that in order to be entered in her Mother’s Day give away, which is another darling idea I wish I’d thought of).  Oh, and did I mention she’s also a personal shopper.  Really?  One can make a career of shopping – with other people’s money.  Man, that Hallie Lord is one clever girl!

5. My cousin, Dena – Anyone who can eat anything she wants and maintain an amazing figure is bound to be a source of jealousy.  Yes, I said the “J” word, but no amount of inspiration will give me Dena’s metabolism. So, yes, I am flat jealous, and I admit it!  It only galls me further to think that we are from the same gene pool!

6.  The woman from Proverbs 31 – Far be it from me to question the Lord, but did we really need nearly entire chapter in Proverbs detailing the attributes of a Superwife, Supermom, Supermerchant, Superwoman?   Actually, on my better days, I really do find this particular scripture passage inspiring.  She is who I aspire to be, right down to her good taste (…her clothing is of fine linen and purple) and her great attitude (Strength and dignity are her clothing and she laughs at the time to come..).  She is resourceful, hardworking, savvy, productive, and Godly.  Let that be me.  Amen.

Reposted at homestead-barn-hop-61.html

6 responses to “If I Were the Jealous Type….

  1. Hallie @ Betty Beguiles says:

    Aren’t you the sweetest! I can’t believe I made it onto such a cool list. Thank you so much! So nice to “meet” you!

    • You are welcome, Hallie. I’ve really enjoyed your blog. I already have a copy of your book, but I am always on the lookout for cool pens – and zebra stripped to boot!

  2. Cranky Puppy says:

    We just got back from visiting the Laura Ingalls-Wilder home just south of us here in Missouri and it was delightful. Did you know that Laura was only 4 foot 11 inches tall? And you should see the clothing and quilts that she, Ma and Mary sewed. The tatting on the sleeves and neckline would make you swoon. The Little House books aren’t just stories – they describe her real life. And they were all amazing. I’ll be posting pictures over at crankypuppy.blogspot.com tomorrow if you want to stop by!

    • I would LOVE to go to the Ingalls-Wilder home. That might be a good road trip for my Littles and me this summer. I don’t know why I didn’t read the Little House to the Big Kids. I just think they are so charming. I will definitely check out your post.

  3. Dena says:

    Omg! I am in your blog!! I feel like I made it to the big time!! :)!!

    • Yes, Dena, you are famous now. Funny, I thought you would come back with some comment about how you’ve always been jealous of my nearly flawless skin. Isn’t that how we usually do this? 🙂

Leave a Reply

