Up With the Chickens

Raising children and chickens on a little buffalo farm

Egg on My Face…

on February 29, 2012

About an hour ago I had egg all over my face, literally. Why? Vanity. Here’s the story: I have a friend, Alexandra, who is as vain as I am, but at the same time as practical. She’s also very knowledgable about things like natural alternatives to bad stuff. Naturally she was the first person I called when my dermatologist recommended a high-power, high-dollar anti-aging cream. I knew she could help me weigh flawless skin against the considerable expense and exposure to harsh chemicals offered by this miracle cream. Her suggested alternative – egg yolks! One of the key ingredients in this prescription cream is Vitamin A – which is also found in egg yolks. In fact, egg yolks are loaded with it! And on top of that, I’m a chicken farmer! How perfect is that?
So, tonight I slathered on some egg yolk. After about ten minutes, I scrubbed it off with warm water – and my face feels Amazing!  I checked in out online, and egg yolks, when mixed with a little water, can also be used daily as a anti-aging face wash (rather than a mask) and egg whites can be used as a skin softening, puffiness reducing wash. Seriously, my skin feels like velvet. I can’t wait to wash my face again in the morning. Thanks, Alexandra!

3 responses to “Egg on My Face…

  1. Sharon Spurlin says:

    Fun to learn with you, and fun to see what you blog looks like

  2. I can’t wait to try this. I’ve been using different things and I haven’t noticed anything different. Will this help my sagging skin? I’ve recently lost about 30lbs and my skin has not really caught up. lol
    My lovely daughter (14) likes to pull at my turkey neck.

  3. Tracey, congrats on losing 30 lbs! I call my “turkey neck” my “brisket”, but sadly it is not due to weight loss. I blame in on genetics (and Blue Bell ice-cream). Let me know how you like using the yolks. I don’t know if it will significantly tighten your turkey neck, but I’m banking on reduced crows feet and fewer lines around by mouth and chin – my “puppet lines”. Plus, I’m hoping that using an inexpensive, natural product, will produce the added effect of giving me a certain peace about aging – a new mind set. I am doing what I can with the help of mother nature, but I’m not fighting it tooth, nail and pocket book – yet. Good luck! Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

