Up With the Chickens

Raising children and chickens on a little buffalo farm

Why I Want My Kids to Get Bored…

on July 27, 2013

LC:

The latest post over at Charming Farming…

Originally posted on Charming Farming:

There’s an old saying that goes, “Idle hands are the devil’s playground.” Or workshop or something like that. The point is that if one is not busy, one will get into trouble. Perhaps it is this way of thinking that has spawned the kids’ craft industry and the untold number of websites and Pinterest pages devoted to making things with popsicle sticks, paper plates, and toilet paper rolls.

I’m not knocking kids’s crafts.  I’ve done my fair share of crafting with kids.  My children and I have melted crayons to make Christmas ornaments.  We’ve glued rice and pinto beans to particle board to fashion works of art.  We’ve strung macaroni necklaces, and made our own play doh.   Quite frankly, I’m sick to death all of it.  Really, I’d rather glue popsicle sticks to my eyebrows than to ever make anything else involving pipe cleaners again.   Ever.

Sure…

View original 1,100 more words

One response to “Why I Want My Kids to Get Bored…

  1. Reblogged this on Book Smart – A Parents' Guide to What Kids are Reading and commented:

    Here’s the latest from over at Charming Farming…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

