Up With the Chickens

Raising children and chickens on a little buffalo farm

Luscious Powerhouse Smoothie

on March 24, 2012

ImageI

It seems like Pinterest is booming with smoothie recipes.  I’ve pinned several myself, but I can’t say I’ve found one I like more than this one.  With the possible exception of the spinach smoothie (that I haven’t tried), I don’t think I’ve found a healthier one either. I’m currently using Peanut Wonder, an all natural, low fat peanut spread that I got at the local natural food store.  I’ve also had great luck with powdered peanut butter from http://bellplantation.com .  Of course, you can also use your favorite natural pb too. As a sweetener I’ve used honey, agave nectar, stevia, and, my personal favorite, raw sugar.    The best thing about this smoothie -the kiddos love it!

2/3 c to 1C Greek yogurt

1 banana

2tbs Peanut Wonder, powdered peanut butter or natural peanut butter

2 heaping Tbs cocoa

2 Tbs coconut oil

2 Tbs ground flaxseed

2 Tbs sweetener of your choice (taste test to see if you want more)

1/2 to 1 cup almond milk or regular milk ( I use almond milk)

1 cup of ice

Blend it all up and drink it down!  Yum!

3 responses to “Luscious Powerhouse Smoothie

  1. Barbara says:

    When you say local natural health food store, do you mean here in Berryville?

  2. [...] am a nut for all things pumpkin. A nut. So, of course, I’ve adapted my Luscious Powerhouse Smoothie recipe for the season. And remember, I’m a pinch and dash kind of a cook, so feel free to [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

