Up With the Chickens

Raising children and chickens on a little buffalo farm

So What is a Mini-Farmer?

on December 28, 2011

Okay.  Full disclosure right up front.  I made up the  term “mini-farmer.”  At least I think I did.  I don’t think it’s really a thing.  I will google it and report back.  But for for the purpose of this introduction, a mini-farmer is (please excuse me for stating the obvious), someone who operates a mini-farm – who farms on a small scale for the pure enjoyment of it.  I’m defining a mini-farm as a small, often non-commercial, means of growing food or livestock.  Mini-farms can exist on a few acres in a rural area or in a suburban backyard.  To me, any place people grow crops- even a small garden or raise livestock – even a handful of backyard chickens, is a mini-farm.

I believe people who engage in agriculture whether in big ways or small, whether for survival or for pleasure, are farmers.  I admit this broad definition of a farmer is fairly self-serving.  I use it because I like thinking of myself as a farmer. It’s very satisfying, and it makes me feel like I’ve made small strides toward a more natural, sustainable, and simple life-style.

True, most people in our rural, agricultural area would probably NOT consider me a real farmer – yet.  My husband, Hal, and I do live on a 100 acre  farm, and we do raise buffalo (bison).  We don’t make our living doing this, but we do sell some of the meat at our hardware  store.  We live in a bucolic setting.  We fertilize, cut hay, and work out in the freezing cold or brutally hot weather to feed our livestock.  We do have all the trappings of a farm family.  We just don’t produce in abundance.  We produce enough for our family and a bit extra – much of which goes right back into the farm.

My husband grew up in Little Rock, and never even drove a tractor before he married me, but he probably passes as the real farmer in our family.  Hal took over the my dad’s  buffalo operation right after we were married.  It was strictly a hobby for my father, but Hal has turned it into a nice little source of extra income.  He does drive a tractor now.  He knows what kind of hay to feed and where to get it.  He knows how to fix fences and build pens.  And he looks mighty fine in a pair of overalls.  Yes, Hal is definitely a farmer – has been for years.

I, on the other hand, am a greenhorn –  a newbie.  I grew up on this farm, but I never really participated in raising buffalo.   I do remember being very proud when my kindergarten class visited our buffalo “ranch,” and growing up on a buffalo farm made a great conversation starter when I went through sorority rush in college.  But other than that, I never took much interest in the herd. Even when Hal and I moved to the farm ten years ago, I was too busy taking care of babies to be interested in taking care of livestock. However, in the last year that has changed, and I’ve decided to more fully embrace life on the farm.

Much to Hal’s surprise, I asked for chickens for Mother’s Day this year.  He bought me 25 adorable little chicks – that went from cute to creepy in about two and a half weeks.  Fortunately, we made it through their awkward phase, and now they are beautiful, prolific laying hens.  It is truly a thrill to gather the eggs each day.

The younger children and I are also raising rabbits.  I’m not sure how that happened.  (Well, actually I am.  They are, after all, rabbits.)  Our adventure in rabbit husbandry began when a customer at the hardware store offered Hal three rabbits.  We thought it would be a great way to enjoy some hasenpfeffer.  That idea lasted about 60 seconds.  That’s how long it took Cat and Chet, our two youngest (ages seven and nine) to name them, claim them, and cuddle them.  Our bunny addiction has grown from there.  We now have six adorable adult rabbits and nine precious kits. ( I’ve since learned that is what baby rabbits are called.) I still hope to raise meat rabbits someday, but I’m not sure I’ve got it in me.  At this point I can’t imagine frying a cute little creature named Jasmine or Mr. Fluffington- better name the next one Stew.

That line between pet and livestock is just one of the many dilemmas I’m apt to face. I’m not just raising rabbits and chickens.  I’m raising four kids and teaching high school.  Life on this farm is a (crazy) simple life.  Since I’m new at both farming and working full-time (I stayed home with the kids for 14 years), this blog is to share this  adventure and to encourage other who might like to try a hand at mini-farming.  I will share stories, photos, recipes, links, and hopefully  a few laughs….Oh, and I hope to come up with a good catch phrase.  I’m thinking,  Farm On!  We’ll see.

6 responses to “So What is a Mini-Farmer?

  1. Love it all!! More, more, more!!

  2. Kristen says:

    I can consider myself a mini farmer too since we put out a vegetable garden. Thanks! I don’t especially love living in town, and am often envious of those, like you, that can do these fun things. Now I see that I am a small step closer to being that (mini) farm girl.

    • You could also get some backyard chickens. From what I understand, they are all the rage in the big cities and suburbs. But in the meantime, you’re still a (mini) farmer!

  3. Barbara says:

    Legit term – my aunt, who is a real farmer!, used the term mini-farm about our place.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

